Description

Christian TEFL is an online TEFL/TESOL training organisation enabling you to gain an accredited TEFL certificate and use it in a mission setting if you wish.  We have partnered with some major mission organisations, such as Interserve so you can apply directly for optional worldwide TEFL mission placement through our site.  Others are teaching English and earning with their accredited certificate.Christian TEFL offers professional TEFL courses that were created by Global English TESOL courses, one of the oldest and most established online TESOL organisations in existence.  Christian TEFL is registered with the charity commission in the UK.  Trainees decide on how the profits are divided between the mission partners.

Christian TEFL is an organisation that is very different from other TEFL training providers.

We train people to teach English via our accredited online TEFL courses and then we point our graduates in the direction of mission partners, who are seeking volunteers to teach English in a mission setting. So we aim to be a meeting place for those who want to serve Christ through TEFL and organisations engaged in doing just that.

But the real difference is that we are a Christian charity (registered charity number 1145857) and as such, we give all our profit to our partner organisations, so that your course fees go in the most part to helping to spread the gospel.

Through our sister organisation Global English we’ve been training people to teach English since 1996 (and teaching English ourselves for several years before that!). Everyone here is a former or current EFL teacher so we like to think we can give you the best quality training of any online TEFL training provider.

The idea is that you can enrol on one of our TEFL programmes, get a qualification behind you in your own time, and then go to work in the mission field, be it on a short term project or in a long term setting, using your knowledge of English to assist you.

Interested in finding out more about us? Then take a look at the Why Choose Us and Did You Know pages to discover what motivates us and how we work...

Company Details
Main Office | Course Location

Senate Court, Southernhay Gardens, Exeter EX1 1NT

Course Location(s)
Course Type(s)
  • Online TEFL Courses

Course Length(s)
  • Mini Courses (<30 hours), Short Courses (40-100 hours), Standard (120-140 hours), Long Courses (150+ hours)

Certificate Type(s)
  • TEFL / TESL / TESOL

Specialist Course(s)
  • Grammar, Teaching One-to-One, Teaching Young Learners (YL)

Additional Feature(s)
  • Stand-Alone Teaching Practice Module, TEFL Internships

  • Roy Hoodless
    October 24, 2017 at 12:00 am

    The 120 hour Christian TEFL course is excellent. Whether, like me, you are looking to improve your lesson plans and classroom management, or need support in the grammar and usage aspects of the English language you will receive expert tuition and support. The course structure follows a logical progression and there is plenty of opportunity to practise and reinforce the learning. There are also hints and tips on making the teaching enjoyable as well as effective.
    A range of quality materials are recommended – both course books and on-line resource. These really helped with the coursework, but will also be a source of on-going support.
    My tutor always gave clear and timely responses to any questions and the feedback from the module submissions was prompt, helpful and encouraging.
    I loved the course which is challenging but well worth the investment of time and effort.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

  • Joanna
    September 23, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I’ve just completed the 250 hour TEFL course and I would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of getting a qualification in this subject.
    The course itself is very good and covers a huge range of topics. The course guides are well explained and offer useful links to other books and resources throughout. These are useful for both completing the course and for future lesson planning.
    The staff members and tutors are amazing, they are always happy to help and quick to respond. I found my tutors very encouraging, and the feedback they gave was very useful in enabling me to develop my skills as a TEFL teacher.
    I’ve learnt so much during this course and I now feel equipped and able to teach TEFL. This course takes a fair amount of time to complete but is well worth doing.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Lucy Mann
    July 3, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I found the 70 hour quick start Christian TEFL, which I have just completed, exactly what I wanted and more. Having a background in the study of foreign languages, I was fairly confident I would be okay with the grammar aspect but I am not a teacher so needed to learn how to communicate that knowledge. The method of teaching a grammar structure is straightforward and exactly the way I would like to be taught if I were a student. I really enjoyed lesson planning and found the Youtube videos a great way of seeing teaching methods in a real life classroom. My tutor was inspirational and her comments very detailed and extremely helpful. I was very impressed by the quick turnaround in marking of modules: 24 to 48 hours.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

  • Sue Woods
    May 27, 2017 at 12:00 am

    Before I started I was unsure how much it was possible to learn to teach through an online course. However I found the course very stimulating. It was certainly not just a box-ticking exercise but an opportunity to really stretch myself. The feed-back from my Tutor has been very helpful. After submitting a piece of work I’d have it thoroughly assessed and returned within a day or two with a very thorough individual critique of what I’d written and additional advice.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

  • J Riemens
    March 17, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I’ve just completed te 120-hour TEFL course. It was a challenge, certainly at the beginning, but I definitely have learned a lot from it. It’s set me on the good track, and given me many good ideas that I will be able to use, and already have been able to use with my students. I wish I’d done this years ago!
    As for the one star fewer for course content, I found I had to search internet and read a lot to get the information I needed, so I agree with the other reviewers that there might have been a bit more information of good examples for lesson plans. That being said, the course is of course geared to classroom teaching, whereas I’m mostly working with students one on one.
    Thanks for the great experience!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Karen Norton
    February 6, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I have just completed the 70 Hour Quick Start TEFL course and found it EXCELLENT. I had previously taught full-time in mainstream Primary education for nearly 30 years, had taken responsibility for Special Needs and Literacy, as well as becoming a deputy headteacher and had gained many additional qualifications. With my teaching experience, strengths in languages and a good honours degree, I had assumed that the TEFL course would be a ‘doddle’.
    Far from it! The whole process challenged my former practice in language teaching, forcing me to analyse the English language from a completely different perspective. The study booklets were interesting and thorough but did not ‘spoon feed’. The assignments were thought-provoking, demanded commitment and I found the lesson planning hard work! Feedback was very good and learning how best to ask for guidance was a skill in itself.
    I feel I would have benefited from a clearer explanation of lesson planning stages in the first Study Booklet. However, my tutor capably clarified it for me.
    Overall, an excellent course and one that I would be happy to recommend.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Simon
    November 13, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I am very satisfied with courses here at Christian TEFL. Each module is well written to properly introduce you to the teaching world. The tone of each module is reassuring and friendly instead of cold hard-core theory. Personnel here are highly competent while friendly and always available and ready to help.
    And as far as job placement goes, I have only just finished a 100 hour course (Quick start with a Young learner’s module) and WHILE I was finishing the course, I was able to apply to a big online teaching company (iTutor group)!I highly recommend Christian TEFL!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Rebecca Maccar
    November 9, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I have just completed the 250 hour TEFL course and I can highly recommend it. My tutor Kerry was very supportive and marked the coursework promptly with helpful feedback.
    The content of the course is intensive and does require commitment but it was enjoyable and i have learnt plenty.
    The content of the course is good and allows you to look into a wide range of topics including linguistics. The materials are also excellent and cover each area fully. There are also links at the end of each section if you want to look into a certain topic more intensely – ideal for the future!
    The coursework can be challenging at times but not impossible and it helps you to really apply what you have learnt. This is useful as it gives you further opportunity to explore areas and to think reflectively on what you have learnt.
    Do consider this course because it will equip you for a teaching career. Just be mindful that you will have to give a good chunk of your time to it. This is not impossible though as I have a very young baby and have managed to work around that obstacle!
    Sign up and be surprised at what you can learn!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Dominika Mokrzycka
    August 4, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I have completed advanced TEFL course (250 hours). The course material is easily accessible and very well written with practical tips and advice. The course is challenging, however, the tutor support is excellent. My tutor, Kerry. was brilliant. She marks the work promptly and gives very helpful comments. I would highly recommend the course!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

  • David Ball
    October 27, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I completed the 70 hour Quick Start course in July 2015. As a retiree who has been out of formal education for some time I found the course challenging but an ideal introduction to the world of TEFL teaching as a volunteer with an inner-city TEFL project.
    The course fulfilled the title ‘Quick Start’ by covering all the essentials and provoking interest in exploring some areas in more depth on a further course. The grammar teaching built on the familiar, then going on to introduce some of the more complex constructions.
    The course content was well structured, seeking to make content practically relevant to the needs of a class.The supporting video clips brought this to life.
    The four modules included a significant focus on lesson planning which was well supported by the tutor’s helpful response to my initial struggles. She helped me define and refine the purpose and methods of developing a successful lesson plan.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

  • Josiah Gray
    October 15, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I just complete the 120 hour TEFL premier course with Christian TEFL. The course was really helpful in giving me experience in writing lesson plans and understanding how to teach. I know that after doing it I’m prepared to enter the classroom, not just with knowledge but with practical resources, activities and ideas. I would recommend it to anyone! The quality of the content and the help from the teacher was amazing. The only thing I wished there was more of was Lesson Plan help (that was the area that I felt required more examples and sample lesson plans). Overall, Christian TEFL did an amazing job (an added bonus was being able to download the documents and complete them offline). I’ve kept all the feedback, modules and homework I did and plan to refer back to it for many years to come.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

  • Geoff B
    October 3, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I recently completed the 120 hour course with Christian TEFL. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to study TEFL while working. My tutor (Kerry) was really personable and gave great feedback which helped me build on what I was learning in the course. If I have a chance to study TEFL more in the future (in a residential course maybe) then Christian TEFL will be my first port of call.The course content is well structured, taking you from the basics of teaching (in general and EFL specifically) in module one, up to real in depth grammar by the end of module four. The modules are challenging but everything that is done is of relevance and I can see myself applying a lot of what I have learned in a classroom situation.All the modules were marked and sent back the next day (Kerry even marked one on the day before Easter I think!) and the people in the office have been extremely helpful as well.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

  • Ericka B.
    May 1, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I recently completed the 120 Hour Premier Course. This comprehensive course covers all the essential skills needed to teach English abroad. Beginning with a quick review of grammar, each module systematically goes through topics such as teaching grammar structures, lesson planning and classroom management along with other teaching strategies. After finishing each module, I submitted them to my tutor, Kerry, who thoroughly reviewed my work and gave suggestions in weak areas for me to improve on.
    Throughout the material, they present many activities to aid you in creating your own lesson plans. I struggled with correctly structuring my lesson plans at first so it would have been helpful for me to see a couple complete lesson plan examples.
    I chose Christian TEFL because I wanted to learn from someone with values similar to mine. Christian TEFL’s desire is to serve the Lord through the training of people with that same desire. If this is your desire as well then start learning with this great company today!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

  • Louis Gavin Steyn
    February 22, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I have just completed the 250 hour Advanced Tefl course and I can highly recommend the course. As a full time worker the flexibility of the course allowed me to complete it in my own time. It is well layed out and it is well written. Also the course is very interactive, so from the start you are practically involved in answering questions as you go. It provides links to many resources as well. The tutor support is great and Kerry my tutor responds very quickly and is very encouraging. Don’t get me wrong, it is not an easy course, you have to be prepared to put hard work into it but this will prepare you more for the classroom in the future. The course also gets you to research and think for yourself, and as a teacher you will need to be able to harness these skills. Kerry, the tutor gave me good and honest feedback and this helped me to the next module. I recommend that you do the 20 hour grammar course as well while doing this course. This helped me lay a foundation as I had forgotten a lot of my grammar rules. The course itself however does go through grammar. As for job placement, while I have not actively searched for jobs yet, they do regularly post job offers around the world and also give good advice on how to search for jobs. Like any institution it is still up to you to do the research to look for the jobs. Christian TEFL is an accredited school and they are an honest institution, unlike other companies that will promise you the world but don’t deliver.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Peter Armon
    October 6, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I’ve just completed the 120 hour course. My Tutor, Kerry, was excellent – always making very helpful comments on my course work, marking and returning my answer booklet promptly.My only criticism would be that there was very little material in the course related to teaching beginners and elementary students but the general principles and skills taught are useful and applicable to all levels. The Study Booklets contain a wealth of material and information which will be useful in future teaching practiceI would thoroughly recommend the course to others.(Sorry – I gave 4 stars to practice teaching when in fact there isn’t any classroom practice in the 120 hr. course. I can’t seem to delete what I ticked)

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Tim
    June 5, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I undertook this course with Christian TEFL, having already gained a Level 5 Diplomacy in Literacy. The first thing that struck me about the course was its usefulness to the classroom. The first module was filled with practical tips that hadn’t even been covered on my PGCE course. Simple things like different layouts of the room were addressed, for instance.
    The second thing that stood out was the ease of language used in all the course materials. Easy to read, yet informative and stimulating at the same time. The module books (written on PDF files) also provided links to websites and video clips so that the reading could be broken up, and you could have a look at websites that could prove valuable when you start teaching. The video clips were also helpful in seeing how a teacher taught different aspects of the language to groups of students.
    The third thing I liked, and I liked this in particular, was that the content of the course was excellent for someone like me, who, despite having a level 5 in literacy, hadn’t every thought (or been taught) about aspects of grammar such as the difference between simple and continuous tense. This is what attracted me to the course in the first place and what turned out to be particularly good.
    The fourth, and final, aspect of the course that I will comment on, because it impressed me so much, was the speed of the marking. Whilst Christian TEFL says it aims to get feedback within 3 days, I actually found that it was usually the next day, or on one occasion, even later on the same day! Superb!
    If there was one thing I can think of to improve, it would be to suggest that the videos they use as teaching examples could be more varied. The videos that I saw featured the same teacher every time, and sometimes the same class too.
    Overall though, it was an excellent course and a great introduction to the world of TEFL.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Josh Colville
    May 13, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I did their 70 hour quick start TEFL course. i would recommend it to anyone one looking to do a TEFL course! My tutor Kerry was a great help! Any feed back she gave was exactly what was needed to be read. Her advice and tips were very helpful. The course material was brilliant, I hope to do more courses with CHRISTIAN TEFL in the future. So if you are looking to do a TEFL course then give this company a try! they have many other courses to choose from! of course there isn’t any guaranty you will get a job after your course, at least they provide you with the tools to teach English to foreigners. give this site a try.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Reinette
    May 2, 2014 at 12:00 am

    As a newcomer to the teaching field I found the TESL on line course to be very helpful in introducing me to the ESL world.
    The course content was easily accessible and relevant for someone not familiar with the field.
    Doing the lesson plans were challenging but a good way of showing me the type of effort needed in creating a lesson. I appreciated the feedback from the tutor as I know it was a certain quality which I might not have found anywhere else. The course had good resources which I could tap into and helped me to start building up my own teaching resources. Unfortunately no job placement is guaranteed but the course directors are clear about that from the beginning so no false promises or pretences. They do have a job section though which I found helpful. I would recommend Christian TEFL to anyone with ease as I found it useful.
    (PS. I did a 120 hour and a 30 hour course)

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Victoria Granger
    May 1, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I have just completed the 20hr Grammar Course with Christian TEFL and am half way through the 250hr Certified Advanced TEFL Course. The course material is excellent! It s written in such a way that you learn thoroughly with practical tips and advice. Neither courses are ‘easy’ but they are both very well written and the quality is superb. The tutor support you get is also a strength of these courses, you can get as much or as little help / support as you need. My tutor, Kerry, has been a great support. She marks my work promptly and gives really useful advice. She is really professional whilst also being fun and enjoyable to work with.
    This is definitly a course to consider!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

Add a review