Description

Rennert New York TESOL Center is a private teacher training facility located in the heart of midtown Manhattan near Grand Central Terminal. The TESOL Center has been offering high quality teacher training since 2005. We are a host site of the World Learning SIT TESOL Certificate, a university-based TESOL certificate program offered in partnership with the SIT Graduate Institute, an accredited American graduate school. We also offer a wide range of specialty courses for new and current teachers. The TESOL Center is an accredited by ACCET and is also a licensed private career school with the New York State Department of Education.Rennert New York TESOL Center’s premises include wireless internet, printing and a computer lab. The TESOL Center’s students also have access to a resource library with course books, activities books, reference books and CDs. The Center’s classrooms come equipped with, or have access to, projectors or large flat-screen computer screens for showing videos or websites in the classroom. Students all receive the materials binder in digital form on a complimentary flash drive, which they can also use to store their lesson plans, essays etc. Some lessons are conducted using E-Beam (portable Smartboard) technology and students are able to use this in their practice teaching lessons.

Course Location(s)
Course Type(s)
  • On-site TEFL Courses

Course Length(s)
  • Short Courses (40-100 hours), Long Courses (150+ hours)

Certificate Type(s)
  • TEFL / TESL / TESOL

Specialist Course(s)
  • Professional Development, Teaching Business English (BE), Teaching Young Learners (YL)

Additional Feature(s)
  • Part Time Option, Stand-Alone Teaching Practice Module

  • Kristy
    January 5, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I had an incredible experience at The Rennert School in conjunction with the International TEFL Academy. My instructor, Chris, was very knowledgable and seemed to make the 8 hour classes go quickly! The activities we did in class with our classmates really brought us together as a class. The course taught me not only how to teach, but it also taught me a lot about my strengths and weaknesses as a teacher. We were able to teach real students from NYC and learned how to give and receive feedback from our classmates. I would recommend this course to anyone who is comfortable handling a medium level of work in a short time frame. It doesn’t only teach you how to teach ESL/EFL, but any topic. And after the course, Autumn has been super helpful both on my visits back to NY and via email. She loves to help her alumni and is just an overall amazing person for any kind of advice.This school and course are supportive, knowledgable, and a great resource as I continue my journey as a teacher in Mexico!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Andre
    January 2, 2018 at 12:00 am

    Wow! This was seriously a fantastic school. I got out of it everything I had imagined and more. The hands-on teaching practice coupled with in-depth instruction have given me so much confidence going forward with my teaching career. The instructors are supportive and knowledgeable. The course is well designed and organized. 100% A++

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Giorgia
    December 29, 2017 at 12:00 am

    Attending Rennert was the best four weeks of 2017.
    Not only was the curriculum organized in an accessible and interesting way, the teachers who lead our class were all intelligent, supportive, approachable, and clearly passionate about teaching.
    By having us plan our own lessons, and teach real ESL students, Rennert ensures that all its TESOL graduates are highly prepared for their future careers.
    I cannot recommend this place enough. It was truly a life-changing experience.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Marc Tabin
    October 10, 2017 at 12:00 am

    Since 2016, I decided I wanted to outsource my education to another country. I wanted to attain my masters in Germany, but sadly, sometimes plans don’t work out the way they want to. The deadlines have passed and I would have to wait another year, so I decided to work a bit, save a little money for the following year, and then pursue this goal once more in 2017. I wanted a backup plan for some financial stability, so I decided to become an English teacher which would allow me to both sufficiently sustain my living expenses and travel. Taking the four-week intensive course has been one of the best decisions of my life.After applying and working hard to gain a seat at some of the graduate programs in Germany, it can really be taxing, both mentally and physically. My confidence was slowly growing weary and I began to have a lot of self-doubt. “Am I not smart enough?” was a question that reverberated constantly through my mind. This is the sort of baggage I brought with me when I took the TESOL course at Rennert.The staff was friendly and helpful, trainers were professional and patient, and my peers were very encouraging. There was a lot of emotional support and that really helped me rediscover my confidence. For the first two week, I had this self-perception that I wasn’t good enough to be the teacher: “Are the students enjoying it? Am I teaching them correctly?” One night, when I arrived home after class, I received an email from one of the TESOL trainers. It was a picture of one of the students reviewing a vocabulary handout sheet about food. This was given a little more than a week ago. The email stated:“Dear teachers! I noticed something in the hallway today, and I thought you might find this inspiring. One of your students wasn’t wasting time waiting. She was attentively reading a handout from one of the lessons you taught. What does this tell you about their hunger for learning? Isn’t this empowering? Keep growing!”At that point, I had water in my eyes. The handout sheet I mentioned early was made by me. Ever since then, I rediscovered myself. I didn’t get to mention earlier what graduate degree I wanted to pursue and that would be public policy. I wanted to make an impact on people and change peoples lives for the better.The people of Rennert helped remind me what I’m capable of and that I can still make a difference. Thank you for everything!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Margot Osborne
    September 17, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I’ve worked in Adult Ed for 15 years and took this course to improve my skills in giving feedback to ESL teachers and in lesson plan preparation. I got what I came for and much, much more. Beginning with the intake interview, I felt I was in capable hands, with its fair warning of just how demanding the course would be and the accommodations that would be required i.e. abandonment of all other pursuits for the month. Then came a series of short provocative articles that would require reading and comment to complete the course and which could be tackled early to free up time during the course itself. Additionally there was a magnificently designed Grammar Awareness exercise that reacquainted us skillfully with the grammar rules that I, for one, had long since forgotten. We received and gave feedback beginning day 1 and the trainers consistently modeled specific, measurable, actionable, realistic and time-bound (SMART) input that was backed by thoroughgoing knowledge of TESOL principles and years of experience teaching both English language learners and the TESOL SIT intensive. On day 1, I was a bit discouraged by the windowless, somewhat cramped classroom, but the walls quickly filled up with colorful posters created to illustrate the many lessons of any given day, nourishing the visual learner and providing constant reminders of the techniques we were there to assimilate.The opportunity to practice teach 2 different levels of students from all over the world was invaluable along with the cultural awareness workshops and brilliantly scaffolded lesson planning guidance that took us from being provided with all the materials we needed to creating our own and from close supervision to almost none over the course of the month. Having completed my undergraduate studies 45 years ago, merely surviving the grueling schedule was a miracle that could not have happened without the skilled, wise tutelage of the gifted trainers at Rennert.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Emery Powell
    February 26, 2017 at 12:00 am

    Taking the SIT TESOL course at Rennert Center in NYC is the best decision I have ever made! My teacher trainer Selina was amazing. She was so kind, helpful, and profoundly constructive. And the class only had three other participants besides me; it was so personalized. The woman who both interviewed me and provided us all with job assistance, Autumn, is the most exuberant, excited person. You will never doubt your decision from the minute you are accepted to the minute you leave the center. In fact, I have never been more nostalgic about something coming to an end than my TESOL course. Thank you Rennert! I have grown so much because of you! Honestly, the only downside was that our classroom had no windows!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

Add a review