Description

Stafford House has been delivering language related courses for over 60 years. With schools in the UK, the US and Canada, we have a reputation for quality, excellent customer service, and attention to detail, and we pride ourselves on being able to meet the individual needs of students and trainees.Our Central London school offers the CELTA course, accredited by Cambridge English Language Assessment, part of the University of Cambridge. The course aims to equip trainees with all the fundamental skills needed to go straight into the classroom and teach English as a foreign or second language, either in the UK or overseas. This highly regarded qualification is recognised all over the world, by the British Council and all other major industry bodies, and is equivalent to level 5 on the National Qualifications Framework.School facilities include a dedicated computer and resource room for trainees, including a fully stocked library of teacher training resources. There is also free Wi-Fi throughout, a café, and a canteen serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition to this, we have dedicated, professional and passionate trainers, with many years of industry experience.As part of Cambridge Education Group, which employs 400 English language teachers a year in the UK alone, we are able to offer job opportunities for promising graduates in both summer schools and all year round schools. We also offer guidance on finding jobs and connections with schools in Spain and Italy.We offer both full time and part time courses and keep group sizes to a maximum of 15.

Course Location(s)
Course Type(s)
  • On-site TEFL Courses

Course Length(s)
  • Standard (120-140 hours)

Certificate Type(s)
  • Cambridge CELTA

Additional Feature(s)
  • Part Time Option

  • Rezwana Malik
    June 17, 2018 at 12:00 am

    Studying the CELTA course at Stafford House was engaging, inspiring and a good experience altogether! I was impressed with the knowledge and support of the tutors and staff who were always on hand to support you even via emails; always very prompt to reply. I would recommend this course to anyone looking to become English teachers to adults. The Teaching Practice sessions were very informative and feedback was always very effective and constructive. Thanks to all staff who made it a lovely experience and less stressful!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Nuria
    June 16, 2018 at 12:00 am

    Doing the CELTA course at Stafford House is such an amazing experience. There is no other course like it. You’ll understand what I mean when you do it. The skills you get are invaluable.The trainers are so supportive and have so much knowledge. The course administrators are so helpful and friendly. You can’t be in better hands. The students are lovely, and the other trainees become like your family.I did the part-time online course during the week with teaching practice every Saturday. Having a full-time job at the same time is quite challenging and you kind of forget about your social life for a while, but you get there in the end and it’s so rewarding. I would definitely recommend doing CELTA at Stafford House. Apart from all the reasons above it’s in a great location and it’s good value for money too!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Danielle
    June 14, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I cannot speak more highly of the trainers. They were incredibly helpful, informative and supportive. Very responsive to our (often many!) questions over email and in person. The course is certainly intense. I did the part-time blended course (online input sessions during the week and teaching on the Saturday). If you have a full-time job that is often 50 hours a week, expect to do very little in your spare time other than Celta. But having just completed it, I can confirm that every hour was worth it. For anyone wanting to do Celta, I would definitely recommend Stafford House.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Kruti
    June 14, 2018 at 12:00 am

    CELTA is definitely an intense course whether it’s done part-time, full-time or online, but completing it in a friendly, constructive and encouraging atmosphere such as The Stafford House is worth it. Not only are the tutors genuinely helpful and insightful with their feedback, the management too do whatever they can to make the environment as efficient & welcoming as possible. There was a week where it snowed in London, and I was not able to get to the center to print my materials on time but was very kindly assisted by the admin there, Karen, when I needed it. The students that we had to ‘practice teach’ were lovely as well, fostering a positive environment overall. At the end of this course, I am able to take away a lot of knowledge, teaching experience, and new friends.Along with its convenient location in the city, I would highly recommend taking the course at The Stafford House.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • KJ Traynor
    June 13, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I was highly impressed with the teaching at Stafford House. I felt supported and encouraged throughout the course and have learned a lot from my time studying there. I was also impressed, as they even gave me guidance regarding future development after the CELTA. I would definitely recommend Stafford House to others, due to the quality of tutors and the pleasant environment.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Brian
    June 12, 2018 at 12:00 am

    The CELTA course was excellent. The two tutors were extremely knowledgeable and supportive throughout. The course itself was hard work for the entire month but if you are dedicated it is a very rewarding experience. Stafford House has a very pleasant atmosphere with both friendly staff and students. I thoroughly recommend studying a CELTA at Stafford House.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Nick
    May 24, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I came into the course with no experience and very little understanding of how to teach English as a foreign language and it still amazes me how much one can learn in such a short amount of time! The course took a lot of hard work and required complete dedication, but there was masses of support from both the tutors and my fellow classmates and this was what I needed to see it through to the end.The tutors are professional, highly knowledgeable and supportive; there was one occasion where I really thought I could not keep up with the workload, but after seeking help from my tutor I got the assistance and assurance that I needed to get back on track.The practical experience was invaluable as I could try out teaching methods what its like to teach actual students.To sum up Stafford House is a truly great place to start your career in TEFL, couldn’t recommend enough!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Kinga
    May 22, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I would highly recommend Stafford House to everybody who is interested in doing CELTA course. I’ve finished part time one and I really liked it from the start. Tutors at the school were very friendly and supportive. Their valuable feedback helped me to make quick progress so I felt more and more competent and relaxed from one teaching practice to the other. The school is very well equipped with interactive boards and many course books.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Mary Groarke
    April 24, 2018 at 12:00 am

    This is an excellent course and I would highly recommend it to others. The quality of the tutors, as well as the feedback and assistance, are immeasurable. The course runs at a very fast pace so be prepared to work hard and learn quickly. There is a lot of team work and our team became very close during the month. I am still in touch with many of them. Throughout the course you need the support of not just your tutors, but also your team to get you through. This was encouraged and was really helpful. I had never taught before and I know this course has prepared me well for teaching English. Well done Stafford House tutors and administrative team!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Giang Luong
    April 23, 2018 at 12:00 am

    Doing CELTA at Stafford House London is perhaps the best experience I’ve ever had. The CELTA tutors were absolutely brilliant and supportive and so were my colleagues. The TP feedback was constructive yet encouraging. Despite the intensity of a full time course, I looked forward to going to class every day. I couldn’t recommend Stafford House London highly enough.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Ben
    April 22, 2018 at 12:00 am

    An excellent course with great, experienced, tutors.
    You teach classes of differing abilities, have many input sessions, observe a range of experienced teachers and receive useful feedback on every lesson you teach.
    Some trainees on the course got jobs before the end.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Stefan
    February 4, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I think the Stafford House is the best place to do the CELTA course. The input sessions were diverse and informative. The teaching practice sessions were really helpful because you received thorough feedback about your performance.The course tutors were helpful and encouraging. They were able to make an insecure trainee believe in her/himself and release his full potential. Furthermore, they encouraged teamwork and contributed to the group harmony.I totally recommend the Stafford House and can’t imagine a better place to do the CELTA!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • I. Bosanszky
    February 2, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I had my CELTA course done at Stafford House. The tutors were amazing and helpful and they inspired me a lot. The course is intense and requires lots of work, but it is really incredible to see the improvement and the confidence you can gain throughout the process. I enjoyed every minute of it. The location is great and all staff are very friendly. Highly recommended.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Maya Marriott-Semper
    January 13, 2018 at 12:00 am

    Stafford House International is an excellent centre to study in. The tutors were all experienced and well informed as well as being very supportive and available to address questions and concerns throughout the day (including during breaks). Additionally, feedback was always fairly and constructively given. Also the centre itself is very well resourced with many course books, free wifi, computers and smart boards in every classroom and a few printers. However, a few small complaints are that the centre IT technology takes awhile to get used to or can be difficult to use. Thus, at times it hinder rather than helped and precious time was lost in the process. This was not helped by the CELTA coordinator going on vacation after the second day of the course. This meant that it was unclear who to address technological problems or concerns with.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Louisa
    October 15, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I cannot recommend Stafford House highly enough. A really well organised course with supportive and encouraging staff. If you’re going to study for a Celta, I’d definitely recommend studying here.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Katy
    October 12, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I can’t recommend Stafford House in Holborn highly enough. The tutors have years and years of experience and go above and beyond to help you. I felt totally supported for the duration of the course.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Ismael Ahmed
    October 11, 2017 at 12:00 am

    Excellent environment to learn, supportive staff and a platform to grow.An experience to cherish. Thumbs up.Class.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Christopher Hilborne
    October 7, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I completed my CELTA part-time at Stafford House. I found the setting, content and tutors to be of the highest standard. The tutors were extremely supportive and clearly had the degree of expertise you want from a teacher. I would recommend Stafford House to anyone who is considering a CELTA course.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • LW
    August 20, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I would recommend anyone who is planning on doing a CELTA to apply to Stafford House. Our tutors were really passionate, knowledgeable and brilliant teachers. The workshops were always really engaging and useful, and the feedback we received on our teaching practice really helped. I got loads more out of the course than I expected and I feel well prepared to teach English. I really can’t imagine another course being of better quality and it’s really good value for money too in comparison with others.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Nataly
    August 2, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I loved the CELTA course at Stafford House! We became familiar with the CELTA methodology, learned effective teaching techniques and observed some really good lessons from experienced teachers.
    What made the course so great was that we had the chance to put theory into practice. We taught pre-intermediate and upper-intermediate students and received valuable feedback from our excellent tutors, who were really supportive throughout the course.
    Overall, I would recommend Stafford House to anyone interested in teaching English as a foreign language!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Quamroon
    July 20, 2017 at 12:00 am

    An enjoyable experience.The team at Stafford house were supportive and friendly throughout the course and post course! The timetable was well organised and we were given ample opportunity to observe various level lessons as well as teach upper intermediate and elementary level learners’. It is an intensive course but i wouldn’t say it is difficult, you are guided and supported by your course tutors.The location is perfect! Central London, in close proximity to underground stations, parks and restaurants. If you want to do your CELTA, then I would highly recommend doing it at Stafford House. I am even encouraging my cousin to register!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Richard Goss
    June 20, 2017 at 12:00 am

    The CELTA course at Stafford House was excellent. The two trainers were expert and supportive and kept their sense of humour throughout. They complemented each other well. The course was well organised, with some great resources and ideas. We observed some fantastically good teaching and taught students at pre-intermediate and upper-intermediate level. The trainers’ advice on jobs was very useful in the final week and some of us secured good jobs before the course ended.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • David
    November 12, 2016 at 12:00 am

    The Stafford House team gave me a great standard of coaching, with excellent feedback that I was increasingly encouraged to lead. The whole course is very supportive. You have quite a lot to do over the month, which you’d expect from a month-long, full-time course. But you are helped by the camaraderie you have with the other students, and from the teachers as well. The teachers are really nice people, with decades of experience teaching here and abroad. You’ll enjoy the course. The CELTA course teaches all kinds of skills, so even if you don’t go on to teach English, just from a developmental standpoint I reckon it’s worth it. You’ll enjoy it

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

Add a review