Description

Based in Chiang Mai, Thailand, UniTEFL is part of a professional language training centre, and one of the largest TEFL course providers in Northern Thailand. Our experience in training English teachers stretches back more than five years, with graduates going on to find good jobs in Thailand, France, Mexico, Japan, Australia, Vietnam, Sri Lanka, South Korea, and Taiwan, just to name a few.Our TEFL courses are accredited by TEFL International, a worldwide organisation validated by Fort Hays State University, in the United States. Furthermore, we administer post graduate education programs on behalf of several international universities.

Course Location(s)
Course Type(s)
  • Combined TEFL Courses, Online TEFL Courses, On-site TEFL Courses

Course Length(s)
  • Mini Courses (<30 hours), Short Courses (40-100 hours), Standard (120-140 hours)

Certificate Type(s)
  • TEFL / TESL / TESOL

Specialist Course(s)
  • Grammar

  • Mike
    February 28, 2016 at 12:00 am

    UniTEFL has a nice facility in a great location. Our trainer was very professional and experienced and provided acute insight to every topic throughout the course, but was new to UniTEFL. I imagine future classes with go better as the trainer and UniTEFL sync-up. Overall, a good course with plenty of real-world practice and a good balance between theory and application.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Gina
    February 10, 2016 at 12:00 am

    The staff is great, the course is very informative, the price is right, and the fact that we get to teach 6 classes during our course is beyond helpful. I felt extremely comfortable teaching after going through the UniTEFL GoTEFL program. I also met some wonderful friends and loved getting to live in Chiang Mai during the course. I would recommend the course to anyone looking for a great TEFL experience!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Richard L Wilson
    September 21, 2015 at 12:00 am

    It is with great pleasure I write this review. UniTEFL International helped me change my life. The 120 hr International Certificate program gave me the ability, resources and courage to teach. I investigated several others schools but settled on UniTEFL and I am so happy I did. The course is taught be several teachers allowing you a greater repertoire to learn. The resources and instructor competency are unmatched anywhere. The greatest part for me was going to local schools and doing “practicals”. You will actually teach 7 times before you graduate. You will receive training in Phonics, extensive grammar lessons, how to break the ice and “warm-up” each class just to name a few. These lessons will give you a strong foundation to teach in the real world.
    Upon graduating with my 120hr International Certificate I was offered 3 jobs here in Chiang Mai. Ia accepted two of them and am currently teaching privately. All thanks to UniTEFL! I employ you, if you want to change your life …. TAKE this course!Sincerely, Richard L Wilson

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Vladislav Bogushev
    September 1, 2015 at 12:00 am

    Hi everybody that are teachers, or think that are teachers as I did before. ….attending
    the course in Chiang Mai.
    It was the best think I ever did in my life……all I can say is wowwwww
    These guys are the best ever. ….
    Pete is the leader there. ..and people….hands down that person is on of the best I have ever seen…
    James Hyman the other of the course leaders. ….is amaizing..outstandind…..
    I have been teaching in Thailand for 12 years…but after attending the course I found the real way of teaching kids….
    PEOPLE IF YOU DONT ATTEND THAT COURSE in CHIANG MAI Thailand….. YOU WILL SORRY FOREVER
    Thank you so much Pete and James. ..you are the best
    Thank you for teaching me how to be the best teacher…
    We had inspectors from the ministry of education…people….
    They started clapping with hands. …after inspecting my lesson..
    Thank you for everrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr TEFL CHIANG MAI Thailand
    Vladislav Petrov Bogushev

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Simon
    August 26, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I really enjoyed this course a lot! I was lucky to be part of a small but great group, which made it even more fun. Everybody was so keen!And Pete is probably one of the best teachers I’ve ever had, including my time at university!Teaching at different local Thai schools was definitly my highlight. I hope I can do that again very soon.Thank you all so much for the great work and service!Cheers
    Simon

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Robert Weyman
    August 22, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I took the April course ending May 1-2 and it was a great birthday present receiving the TEFL International and TESOL certificate on my birthday. While working through the course, I made some good friends. Some of which are teaching my 8 year old son at Anuban Phayao, and I’m very happy knowing he’s in safe hands. Ah me yes well I’m back running my little English language school here in Phayao and now I have certificates and extra skills to show my customers all thanks to a wonderful UniTEFL team. I must add on our course we had some GoTEFLers, special thanks to Peter, Eric, Judy, James, April, and to all the local staff.
    The course content is just right, just enough without being to much to handle, even for a 61 year old. That said I was sweating through most of the course, would I do it again yes I would, we went to a brilliant school called Baiboon in Lampoon and the children were great, some boys will always be boys and proved a good testing ground for class control. A superb experience that won’t be forgotten soon. Thanks again Peter and UniTEFL Chiang Mai.
    Only sorry I can’t give a 6 out of 5.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Graham
    July 29, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I did this course some time ago, but every day in the classroom I’m reminded of the importance of good training and the skills, lesson planning, etc that was covered on this course has been invaluable. Can’t compare with other courses obviously, but every job interview I’ve been to they’ve positively acknowledged UniTEFL and the TI certificate I got, and my confidence as a teacher has been 100% from the start thanks to the practicums we did. If you’re choosing a TEFL it’s important to consider one that does these, and UniTEFL went to the trouble of taking us to various different schools. I also appreciate how TEFL International properly moderates its courses, and recently they informed me it’s now a credit bearing course from a university TESOL degree in the US, which is a bonus. Highly recommend this one if you are taking your TEFL in Thailand, the staff were super helpful with the accommodation and job finding.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • DEVJIT PAUL
    December 25, 2014 at 12:00 am

    Hi All,
    UNITEFL, Chiang Mai, Thailand is a fantastic and fabulous place to be in to learn and get accredited for Tefl or Tesol Certifications.
    The facilities & the faculties at this center are awesome. The techniques taught by them are now coming very handy, as I am a full fledged teacher in a school and teaching the children with the methods taught at this center.
    The praises for the faculties and this fabulous center fall short in words. These praises can’t be expressed in words but can be visualized or seen on the face of a teacher very delighted and currently teaching in a school in Chiang Rai, Thailand through the placement of UNITEFL.
    Now we can imagine how awesome this center of excellence is, which is UNITEFL center of excellence.
    Thankyou all for all your support and help in making me a Teacher.ThankyouWith Warm Regards,
    Devjit Paul
    Batch of UNITEFL : September 2014

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Pedr Fawkes
    October 12, 2013 at 12:00 am

    I took this course last month and found it considerably exceeded my expectations. The trainers were very professional and knowledgeable, the course was academically rigorous, the teaching practice lessons in local schools challenged and pushed us to the limit -without ever pushing us over that limit. One of the aspects of the course that I particularly appreciated was that the students on UniTEFL’s course are the only native and near native English speaking input that the children in the schools we taught in receive -so we were making a real difference to their education -as well as ours even from week one!! I would have no hesitation in recommending UniTEFL’s course to anyone who wants to teach English to children and wants a course that is at the same time challenging and supportive.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Jay
    October 9, 2013 at 12:00 am

    All went well, passed the exam at the end, pleased to be certified! I was nervous with the teaching pracs but glad we did them at a real school, Susan was really supportive, after one I had it nailed. Everything else went smoothly, it’s not a doddle, but my grammar is much improved thanks to this. I’ve got a job now, didn’t take long, I felt pretty confident in the teaching test thanks to facing the Thai kids during course. I’m glad I chose this particular TEFL, everyone made me feel welcome, the instruction was spot on, nice comfy classroom, the free board was a nice bonus. Keep it up guys.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Stevie B
    September 1, 2013 at 12:00 am

    Very satisfied with this lot, got my TEFL cert and they got me a job at the end, no hassles. A few places I had applied to for jobs recognised my certificate, no problems, in the end they found me a good job and I like this idea of lifetime access to their international jobs network. The trainer was first rate and the teaching in Thai schools really made the difference. Nice comfortable training classroom, it was quite challenging but not too pressured. These guys don’t make lofty claims, they just get on with doing a professional job, I got that impression right away when I went in to enquire, and though I did look at other options these guys came across the most sincere.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • John
    July 6, 2013 at 12:00 am

    I was pretty satisfied with Unitefl, I had shopped around the various courses in Thailand, for one I’m glad I chose Chiang Mai, and these guys seemed the most helpful and friendly, Susan answered all my emails, helped me settled in an found me a job afterwards, couldn’t have asked for more. It’s the only TEFL I’ve taken so can’t really compare but Pete did an excellent job training, the teaching pracs were well organised and a good idea to use real schools, a materials provided were professional. I was concerned about TEFL certificates that aren’t widely recognised but these guys give out the TEFL International certificate and so far everyone I’ve since applied to has accepted it. In criticism, I would say that their facilities needed improving but apparently they were about to move when I finished my course so check the website I suppose.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

Add a review